University of Ottawa Choir

A bilingual choir affiliated with the School of Music

Music Director

Robert Filion has spent the past 20 years bringing choirs to the pinnacle of choral excellence. Recognized across Canada, his choirs earn top awards at local, provincial and national levels. His vocal ensembles from École secondaire De La Salle have won 6 national championships. Robert Filion's choirs are heard and seen regularly on the airwaves of CBC and Radio-Canada. The voice programme he heads in the performing arts stream at De La Salle was designated Best Music Programme in the National Capital by the Kiwanis Music Festival and CBC three times (2008, 2012 and 2017).

A talented musician and artistic director, in 2011 Robert Filion was appointed Artistic Director of Unisong, the annual Canada Day festival of Canadian choirs at the National Arts Centre. He works with the National Arts Centre Orchestra on concerts involving youth choirs. He focuses on new works and music from around the world, directing the Canadian productions of the Clifford Crawley opera, "Angel Square", Glenn McClure's "Messe des Caraïbes", "Missa Tango" by Luis Bacalov and "Missa Popularis" by Claus Bantzer. He has collaborated on productions of original Canadian works by, among others, Ruth Watson-Henderson, Laura Hawley, Kelly-Marie Murphy, Stephen Hatfield, Donald Patriquin, Frédéric Lacroix and Clifford Crawley. Robert Filion likes to surprise his audiences, and offer them the experience of all kinds of music.

Robert Filion directed the Choeur classique de l'Outaouais from 1997 to 2011, when it earned the prestigious Liette Turner award. Under his direction between 2002 and 2007, the Ottawa Children's Choir won the international Angel Network prize for the Radio-Canada/CBC broadcast "Evergreen Wishes". In 2013 he was awarded the Prime Minister's Award for Teaching Excellence. Robert Filion holds an Ontario Teaching Certificate and is a member of the Association of Canadian Choral Communities, the American Choral Directors Association, and is a member of the Board of Choirs Ontario.

Accompanist

Photo by Tam Photography

Canadian pianist Carson Becke (www.carsonbecke.com) has performed worldwide. A versatile pianist, he is at home as a recital and concerto soloist, chamber musician and vocal collaborator. He holds a doctorate in musicology from the University of Oxford and his recordings can be heard on Spotify, iTunes and YouTube. He forms one half of Duo Octavian, a two-piano ensemble that he co-founded with fellow pianist Suren Barry in 2016. Duo Octavian seeks to expand the two-piano repertoire with their own arrangements and with arrangements/commissions by other performers and composers. Carson is committed to raising awareness about climate change and other environmental challenges through music. He is enacting those ideas through his directorship of the Pontiac Enchanté concert series in Luskville, Québec: environmental sustainability is one of the cornerstones of its mission. Carson lived in the United Kingdom for fifteen years, in London and in Oxford. In 2019 he moved home to the Ottawa area, where he currently lives with his partner Madeline and their dog Jerry.

Back to Top ^

Chorale de l'Université d'Ottawa

Un ensemble bilingue affilié à l'École de musique

Directeur musical

Depuis plus de 20 ans, Robert Filion vise à amener les chœurs qu'il dirige au summum de l'excellence. Reconnus partout au pays, ses chœurs décrochent des premiers prix à l'échelle locale, provinciale et nationale. Robert FilionLes ensembles vocaux sous sa direction à l'École secondaire De La Salle, qu'on peut entendre et voir régulièrement sur les ondes de la CBC et de Radio-Canada, ont remporté six concours nationaux. Le programme de musique vocale du volet des arts d'interprétation qu'il enseigne à l'École secondaire De La Salle s'est vu attribuer à trois reprises (en 2008, 2012 et 2017) la désignation de Meilleur programme de musique de la capitale nationale par le Festival de musique Kiwanis et le réseau CBC.

En 2011, Robert Filion a été nommé directeur artistique de Unisong, le festival des chorales canadiennes qui se déroule chaque année au Centre national des arts, à l'occasion de la Fête du Canada. Il collabore avec l'Orchestre du Centre national des arts pour des concerts auxquels participent des chœurs de jeunes. Il met l'accent sur les œuvres nouvelles et la musique de différents pays : il a dirigé les productions canadiennes de l'opéra Angel Square, de Clifford Crawley, la Messe des Caraïbes, de Glenn McClure, la Missa Tango de Luis Bacalov et la Missa Popularis de Claus Bantzer. Il a apporté son concours à des productions d'œuvres canadiennes originales, notamment des œuvres de Ruth Watson-Henderson, Laura Hawley, Kelly-Marie Murphy, Stephen Hatfield, Donald Patriquin, Frédéric Lacroix et Clifford Crawley. Robert Filion aime étonner son public et leur faire vivre l'expérience de différents genres de musiques.

De 1997 à 2011, Robert Filion a été directeur du Chœur classique de l'Outaouais qui a remporté le prestigieux prix Liette-Turner en 2010. Sous sa direction (2002-2007), l'Ottawa Children's Choir a remporté le prix international décerné par l'Angel Network pour l'émission diffusée sur Radio-Canada/CBC intitulée Evergreen Wishes. En 2013, M. Fillion s'est vu décerner le Prix du premier ministre pour l'excellence dans l'enseignement. Il est titulaire d'un brevet d'enseignement de l'Ontario et est membre de l'Association des communautés chorales canadiennes, de l'American Choral Directors Association, et est membre du conseil d'administration de Choirs Ontario.

Accompagnateur

Photo par Tam Photography

Le pianiste canadien Carson Becke (www.carsonbecke.com) s’est produit à l’échelle internationale. D’une grande polyvalence, il est aussi à l’aise comme soliste et chambriste qu’en tant que pianiste collaborateur. Titulaire d’un doctorat en musicologie de l’Université d’Oxford, il est le directeur de la série de concerts Pontiac Enchanté à Luskville au Québec. Ses enregistrements sont disponibles sur Spotify, iTunes et YouTube. Avec le pianiste Suren Barry, il a cofondé l’ensemble Duo Octavian en 2016 qui vise à élargir le répertoire pour deux pianos avec ses propres arrangements et ceux d’autres compositeurs et musiciens. Carson s’est engagé à sensibiliser le public sur les changements climatiques et autres défis environnementaux grâce à la musique. C’est ainsi qu’il dirige la série de concerts Pontiac Enchanté à Luskville au Québec dont la mission est fondée sur la viabilité de l’environnement. Carson a habité au Royaume-Uni pendant 15 ans, à Londres puis à Oxford. En 2019, il est revenu dans la région d’Ottawa où il réside avec sa conjointe Madeline et leur chien Jerry.

Haut de la page ^